If You Like This Show ➡ You Should Read This Book

by - 3:52 PM

When I finish a show or watch an episode of my fave shows, I always get this urge to read something that resembles it or has a same feeling to it. (This also happens with sports but that's just me like I always end up rereading The Wall of Winnipeg when I watch a football game omg). So I'm always happy to find a book that reminds me of some fave and great shows. I haven't watched them all or like all of the episodes, maybe I have watched only four episodes or only one season of the 198373 seasons they have, but I'm sure they make me go "huh they sound so much like *inserts show*" 

I just hope you find something you like (or are interested to read more about) in this blog spot. That's my only goal with doing this. Thank you to some people who helped me match shows with books: Katie from @aroaceromanova + Sue from @SueYAHollywood 


IF YOU LIKE: Legends of Tomorrow
YOU SHOULD READ: The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

They have a lot of similarities. The big one, of course, is the time traveling. I picked TGFE because it's one of those books where they time-travel to more than one place. Sometimes in books they always get to time-travel to only one place and that's it. But in TGFE, Nix and the crew visit various places like New York City, Calcutta, Honolulu, etc. And even though this crew isn't various superheroes with powers, Nix's father, Slate, is trying to go back to an specific time to save his wife, Nix's mother, from dying. Plus these two crews travel by ship: Legends of Tomorrow (they travel by a some sort of spaceship) while TGFE (they travel by an actual ship in the sea). 


IF YOU LIKE: Sense8
YOU SHOULD READ: Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis

Even though Otherbound is not filled with 8 voices inside everyone's head, it does have two characters who can go into each other's head. And there's that something that at first the characters in Sense8 only could see into their minds, but later on learnt to be in the other's bodies. In Otherbound, both MCs are POC and disabled. 


IF YOU LIKE: Game of Thrones
YOU SHOULD READ: Welcome to the Underworld by Con Template

One big difference you might have already guessed: yup, Welcome to the Underworld is NOT a fantasy. It's contemporary, set in South Korea. But wait!! Then why is it here? Let me list down the things that I found in common that makes this book perfect if you love Game of Thrones: 1) It's about families fighting for a throne. Yes, it's the Mafia thrones, the who is going to be the new King and Queen of the Underworld. They will fight for that throne and do anything in their power for it, even shed blood yes. 2) There is blood, lots. 3) It has friends you thought you could trust. 4) Epic histories for each family. They all have their reasons, they all have their secrets, they all have problems.


IF YOU LIKE: Faking It
YOU SHOULD READ: Dating Sarah Cooper by Siera Maley

Both have one thing in common: two best friends are mistaken as a couple, then they both pretend to date. It has the high school setting, the cute swoony feelings, self-discovery, and super funny! I have heard this is ten times better than FAKING IT so 1000% recommend if you enjoyed the show but wanted more from it and/or to address other topics. -Sue


IF YOU LIKE: Gossip Girl
YOU SHOULD READ: Prom Queen Perfect by Clarisse David

Alex dela Cruz definitely reminded me of Blair Waldorf: has money, she is a fashionista, popular, and she is feared. She has a childhood friend who she HAAAATES aka the love interest, Adam Cordero. It's not as intense as Blair and Chuck's love story, but it has that sweetness of it. What she wants, she will do everything in her power to get it, even if she hurts some people in the process, though at the end you know as well as I do that Blair Waldorf always reflects on what she has done. 

I also recommend to read: Last Will and Testament by Dahlia Adler and Everly After by Rebecca Paula ~ both have a semi-Serena van der Woodsen as MCs. 


IF YOU LIKE: Gilmore Girls
YOU SHOULD READ: The Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee

When I read this book, one thing I liked the most was the family dynamics it had. The Secret of a Heart Note has a mother-daughter relationship that grows and grows with every passing page. It's magical and beautiful to see it in a YA book. Though the book is more fantasy but it does has some romances and friendships in the mix + it happens in a small town where everyone knows each other. -Sue


IF YOU LIKE: Pretty Little Liars
YOU SHOULD READ: Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra, Dhonielle Clayton

If you like unlikable heroines, ballet, backstabbing, manipulation and mystery, Tiny Pretty Things is for you. With the difference of the setting being a ballet school, it resembles PLL in a way with the heroines trying to win and achieve their goals. It also tackles important issues like bullying, eating disorders, racism, body image ~ all in a competitive environment. -Sue


IF YOU LIKE: The Walking Dead
YOU SHOULD READ: The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

This is one of my favorite books of all time. Not only does it have vampires, but it also has zombies. It's about a girl who suddenly gets turned into a vampire, the beings she hates the most, but now has to live with it. She encounters a group of people that are trying to survive the night (because zombies) and she decided to join them without telling them she's a vampire, of course *wink* The MC is POC!!! And truly this book is so fun and it has action scenes like fighting and almost-dying moments that you will not want to miss! There's romance but also it tells you that you might find a family in people that you don't share blood with. 

You May Also Like

5 comments

  1. LOVE IT, and added PROM QUEEN PERFECT to my TBR soooooooo freakin fast

    ReplyDelete
  2. LOVE the Legends of Tomorrow and TGFE comparison. Also The Immortal Rules s AMAZING. Love this! I found a couple shows and books for my tbr!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I cannot get enough about book recommendations so I love this list. Especially the Sense8 recommendation and Gilmore Girls. I am most definitely checking those books out.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Nice Post . . . .
    Welcome To Casino online Please Click the website. . .
    บาคาร่าออนไลน์
    gclub
    gclub casino

    ReplyDelete